Bits about photography, digital media and art

Synthetic and natural patterns

Since I started experimenting with Photoshop around 1996, I was fascinated by blending modes and the patterns I can make using them.

A natural progression to studying the subject through artwork I drew myself, (that’s when photography was still chemical based, and scanning was reserved for paid projects),  I started using patterns from natural elements I shot.

It’s pretty clear why we find natural patterns to be so inspiring, unlike an empty canvas, they already contain rhythm, flow  and direction which makes them a great subject.

Pink haze

Synthetic: Pink haze 1999

Stained glass leaves

Natural: Stained glass leaves 2009

 

Leave a Reply

